DDs - The More I Play The Less I know

Jakeshuffle

Good morning Everyone,

I have been playing for about six months or so now and I just don't understand the game sometimes. I love DDs but I get caught in the classic blinders and just get destroyed by not paying attention. I'm wondering if I'm falling for a trap by trying to get the cap right away? I know DDs play very differently and I've been trying to find ones that work with how I play but I think I just play wrong lol. As an example, I have 5.8km detectability so I think I'm good to go to be on the caps or at least real close by. With how many ships have radar these days am I just throwing myself to the wolves by getting so close to cap within the first 4 minutes of the game?

I've been playing for just a little bit over a year but still learning a lot about how to play the DD class which I main. I will let the more experienced players reply but here are some of my observations.

• Staying alive is the greatest priority, especially at the beginning of the game
  • DDs play differently from other classes  and each DD is different and needs to be played differently
  • Develop your minimap awareness skills. This is akin to being a pilot who has an Instrument Rating and can fly in any weather. Without it, they can only fly when the weather agrees and is limited. Without expanding your minimap awareness you are limited. I am still working on this myself.
  • Like 4

Noob DD player here.  I'm playing just one line of DDs, European, and concentrating on trying to just spot and not shoot.  When I get the spotting figured out, I'll be working on my shooting.  Meanwhile, just blast out torps and take a cap when you can.  

• Like 1