In-Game Chat.

Malum0ne

When my clan has clan battles, sometimes we need to pick up a merc, from time to time. It seems odd to me when they ask if we use Discord chat, and we don't. We have a Discord Server but use it more like a forum for members. So, when we tell the merc that we use "In-Game Chat" I can almost see them roll their eyes. They usually come up with questions like "Why do you use this in-game chat?" I always respond with "Why not?" And a lot of the time we'll get a merc that says something like "I've been playing this game for 5 years and have never used in-game chat. Is there something I'm missing? The functionality is the same. They both work fine. They both have a push to talk. They both have programmable buttons to use the "Push to talk" button. (The keyboard V for us.) And we don't allow "Open (Hot) Microphones" We don't care to hear you breathe, eat, talk to yourself, or hear your TV in the background. There are the ones who don't have microphones, and we tell them that if they just enable "Voice Chat" in settings, they would be able to hear us, but we couldn't hear them and they could type what they wanted to say. But they refuse to do it. Like they don't trust us, and think we are up to something nefarious. I just don't get it. 🤷‍♂️

• Like 3

People always assume the worst, 
The human race is not known to be trust worthy so this is normal behavior for people in general. 

not many options available. 
1. Spend time trying to convince them everything is above board
2. cut them loose at the first sign of trouble and roll the dice on a new merc. 

Those are your options, 
Most people have the philosophy 'trust is earnt and not just given' 
The older I have gotten the harder I cling to that, because honestly, people in general are not truth worthy and it goes both ways, 
You might be willing to trust, but you cannot force someone to trust you. 

• Like 1