Your first computer

Gillhunter

I don't remember my first home computer, it may have been a Gateway with a 286. The first computer that I spent a lot of time on was at work. I was an engineer, working for a small manufacturing company that designed and built a lot of their own equipment. It was not uncommon for engineers to be required to know how to draft (on a drafting board, using paper). When I was about 33 we purchased our first CAD system. As I recall it was a Texas Instrument desktop running a TI processer with a 10 meg hard drive and 2 floppy drives with a HP plotter. It ran AutoCad 2.0. There were no windows or drop down menus so you had to be proficient with dos commands. The system cost $16,000 in 1985 as I recall. Was it slow? You bet. Of course everyone smoked in those days. When you put in a large, for the day, command it could take 10 minutes to complete. Plenty of time to light a smoke and gab a cup of coffee. There was no 3D, just wireframe. If you were going to create a wireframe you did it just before you went home and let it run all night. 

We have come a long way.

Anyone else have any memory of their first computer?

Edited by Gillhunter
  • Like 1

Company-supplied IBM laptop.  It has to weigh at least 15 pounds.  All metal construction, 5 1/4 floppy required to boot the device, the screen just displayed amber-colored type - that's it.  After about two weeks no one touched them again.

• Haha 1

14 minutes ago, Gillhunter said:

I played an early text version of "Star Trek" when my Dad brought me to work for a "take your kids to work" day at his place of employment.

The first computer purchase with my own money was much later in my life, a x386 based laptop purchased from Sears in their retail store for about $2,000 USD.
The LCD screen was not color, but could provide shades of grey.  The mouse was a track-ball type that clipped to the side of the laptop.

• Like 1

30 minutes ago, Gillhunter said: