It has gotten way too easy to get to tier 10

Zaydin

Too many people who have no idea what they are doing are just rushing to tier 10 and end up being massive liabilities to their team. Combine that with a non-functional matchmaker and blowouts are getting more and more common.

When I started playing in CBT and the transition to Open Beta and then Live, it took me two years to get my first tier 10. Now you can slam a line out to tier 10 in a week or two, maybe less, and thus they don't learn how to play their ships or how to play at high tiers.

Edited by Zaydin
  • Like 2
  • Bored 1

Agreed. Also when the economy changed so you can't earn daily's with low tier ships it wrecked any incentive to play low tiers. You may remember all the forum posts complaining about players seal clubbing in the low tiers. I could never figure out the difference between a player with a couple of hundred battles getting it handed to them at tier 3 as opposed to getting it handed to them at tier 10. 

That's why I only play PvE any more.

Disagree, with qualification. For Coop, it's absolutely fine. Liabilities to the team are almost unheard of. I have nothing against going as fast as possible up to tier X, but I keep most games PvE. Almost all my randoms are lower tier, V or so. So for PvP I would agree. I'll move up when I'm ready.

Anyway, I think a major reason randoms work poorly with or even without less experienced players is the lack of coordinated team effort. Providing bigger incentives to join in balanced divs might help. So too incentives to retain divs over several matches, which may force encourage  (less experienced) players to adapt and learn.

• Like 3

31 minutes ago, I_cant_Swim_ said: