Seeking Help with Carrier Gameplay in World of Warships - Struggling at Higher Tiers

Hyper_Beetle

Hey there, fellow World of Warships captains! I'm fairly new to the game and have recently started playing as a carrier. I'm currently working my way up the Midway line and just unlocked the Ranger. However, I'm facing some challenges and could really use your help.

In my very first battle with the Ranger, I got completely wrecked. My planes were getting shot down by enemy anti-aircraft defenses right away. I'm having trouble figuring out how to use fighter planes and boost consumables effectively. Also, I noticed that the enemy carrier was being aggressive and not retreating to the map's edge. Is this a good tactic for carriers?

I've heard from others that as a carrier, I should support my team by using fighters and helping out with destroyers. But I'm confused about how to target destroyers as a carrier. It worked relatively well for me with the Langley, so I feel like I must be missing something.

To be honest, I'm absolutely lost when it comes to playing high-tier carriers. That's why I'm reaching out to you, experienced carrier captains, for some guidance. I would really appreciate it if you could break down how to play the Ranger and excel with carriers at higher tiers. Any tips, strategies, or advice you can share would be incredibly helpful for me to get better at carrier gameplay.

Thank you so much in advance for your support, and I'm looking forward to learning from the experienced members of this community. Smooth sailing and fair seas to all!

• Like 4

3 hours ago, Hyper_Beetle said:

Hey there, fellow World of Warships captains! I'm fairly new to the game and have recently started playing as a carrier. I'm currently working my way up the Midway line and just unlocked the Ranger. However, I'm facing some challenges and could really use your help.