Forum go'ers, post your story!

desmo_2

@Snargfargle made a post in a current thread:

where he mentioned the experiences of our posting members.  His post made me curious about our forum membership, and I would love to hear your life stories.  Opinions can often carry much more weight when you know the real world experiences that fuel them.

In contrast, I have no real life credibility.

I was a so-so high school student who preferred chicks, friends, good times, beer and cars to academics.  But I managed to graduate, then joined the US Navy and served as an Avionics Technician (AT) working on P-3B Orions ('88-'94).

Once I acquired my DD-214 woobie blanket (aka - honorable discharge) I floundered as a security guard for a bit, then as a state corrections officer for 1.5 years (much suck, don't recommend).  During that tenure I applied for and was eventually accepted into the state highway patrol.  I worked the road for 27 years, during which I fulfilled extra duty assignments in SWAT for 9 years, motorcycle officer for 15 years, and riot control squad for 14 years (some of these years obviously overlapping).  I witnessed the infamous Ferguson riots first hand several times, where I learned "anniversary riots" are apparently an accepted thing.

I have now been retired for a grand total of 27 days.  Booya.

Edited by desmo_2
  • Like 9

When "Baked Lays" potato-chips were a new product, I decided to see if I could bake normal potato-chips to remove excess oils and achieve similar results.

So, I bought some Ruffles ridged potato-chips. 
Then I piled some of them on a baking-pan intended for use in my Toaster Oven.
Next, I placed the pan of piled chips (the pile being about 2 to 2 & 1/2 inches high) into my Black & Decker brand-named Toaster Oven.
I closed the door and set the temperature for 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

I didn't "pre-heat" the oven, so the heating elements automatically went to full-power to bring the temperature up as quickly as possible.