Adding sub or half tiers to the game 9.5-8.5-7.5-6.5-5.5

kriegerfaust

The idea is simply adding half tiers i think the game is big enough just look at world of tanks, who would not love to see more American heavy and light cruisers.  How it would work for people who have already unlocked the line i do not know i am not a game designer but it could be fun.  how it would work to add ships, step one take an existing ship in game.  step two use a real refit or imagined refit and update the ship, bingo bango you have a half tier improved ship.  Or do the opposite imagine a cheaper version of a ship and downgrade it by half a tier, than give it the name of a sister ship of the line.  A new ship you can play in a new way hours of fun to unlock and play.

in this case make the main guns dual purpose but otherwise a good ships idea is the 44' Sommers

Half-tiers would do nothing to improve any aspect of the game.  MM would still be going for a 2-tier split, and all you would be doing is microsplitting the game even further than the 11-tier system we have now.

The refit system is already in place via the sequential upgrades to the hulls, fire control, torpedoes, and/or aircraft that are part of the game already and which players must do before proceeding to the next Tier of progression.

So, I don't see any point in adding more complexity for complexity's sake.  The benefits are nil and the complications to coding and gameplay would be large.

• Like 5

6 hours ago, kriegerfaust said:

how it would work to add ships, step one take an existing ship in game.  step two use a real refit or imagined refit and update the ship, bingo bango you have a half tier improved ship.  Or do the opposite imagine a cheaper version of a ship and downgrade it by half a tier, than give it the name of a sister ship of the line.  A new ship you can play in a new way hours of fun to unlock and play.