Been doing some ballistic tests this morning...

Snargfargle

I thought it was going to be warmer this morning but was 40 degrees with twenty-five mph wind gusts from the north. Thought I'd go out shooting anyway. I didn't even have to open the gate to the old buffalo wallow where I shoot as the cattle are off of the pasture for the winter. My shots were all over the place due to the wind but I had fun anyway.

KIMG0249.jpg 

The place I always put my 25-yard targets up is in an old blow-out whose sides act as a good backstop. I've been shooting there for at least thirty years because that's where I first took my nieces out to shoot .22s when they were five and seven, and the oldest is now thirty seven. The youngest was a bit little to shoot on her own so I held the .22 rifle for her but let her sight it and pull the trigger. She hit the target every time.

Untitled.jpg

image.png

Edited by Snargfargle
  • Like 1

Brave man with the weather.... 

What caliber and load data?  I can't help but to ask....

• Like 2

3 hours ago, Asym said:

What caliber and load data?  I can't help but to ask....

My load data would be the cheapest .22s I could find at Midway when they were having a free-shipping sale the last time the ammo bubble burst, which would have been a few months before COVID hit. Remington Thunderbolt, 40 grain lead round nose. I'd say a little above 1,100 fps out of a 5.5" pistol barrel if the charts I read are accurate. I tend to think that they are as the speed of sound at my elevation is 1,100 fps and I'm pretty sure that I can hear the bullets "crack" while going through the air.