Any Fishermen Here?

6 minutes ago, MysticalWar said:

Woah cool fish 🐟 😎

Not really. I'm a fisheries biologist. Asian carp were introduced to North America to help clean up algae-infested ponds but then started to get loose in the 70s and became well-established by the 1990s. I first saw them in Kansas in the early 90s and the local game warden didn't even know what they were, but a Vietnamese man who was fishing at the Clinton Lake spillway did. They went on to infest most of the Mississippi River basin and have decimated the natural food webs by consuming the plankton that native filter-feeding fish like buffalo, paddlefish, and shad also eat. Though a good forage fish when they are young, Asian carp quickly outgrow the capability of the native predatory fish to eat them. They are here to stay, however, so there needs to be a commercial fishery developed for them. Currently there are a few commercial operations that concentrate on them but nowhere near as many are being harvested as need to be. Although good fighters, they really aren't even that fun to catch because they are such an infestation that you can catch one every cast in many areas and that gets boring after a while. You can eat them but like the common European carp, which is another introduced fish, you have to pressure-cook them and then flake the meat off the bones to make fish cakes, which is time consuming.

• Like 1

This is me several years ago working with Chinook at Little White Salmon in Washington.

tg3QFu.jpg

Edited by Snargfargle
  • Like 1

1 hour ago, Kalishnikat said:

Any Fishermen Here?

Big Head and Silver Carp, Kaskaskia River, Illinois

I have fished in my lifetime.  But it has been decades since I did so.

I do remember seeing this Television commercial, though.  🙂 

15 hours ago, Snargfargle said: